Freedom of Expression Conference

Join Nobel Peace Prize laureates, media experts and freedom of speech activists in a discussion about press freedom, democracy, and truth.

Time: 2 Sep 2022 07:30 - 12:00
Place: Digital event


Nobel Peace Prize laureates Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muratov are among the speakers when the Nobel Peace Center gathers international media experts and journalists to discuss press freedom, democracy and truth.

Our annual peace conference ends a year of events related to the Nobel Peace Prize to Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muratov. The two journalists were awarded the prize in 2021 for their courageous fight for freedom of expression in the Philippines and in Russia.

The last year has offered great challenges to press freedom across the world, and the situation for the two laureates has worsened dramatically since December 2021. In the Freedom of Expression Conference, we will explore challenges and solutions ahead, with the aim of contributing to a safer, more democratic information space.

Due to the sad news of Mikhail Gorbachev’s passing, Dmitry Muratov will stay in Russia to attend his funeral and will unfortunately not be joining us physically at the Nobel Peace Center for the Freedom of Expression Conference. Muratov will still deliver his keynote speech through video for everyone to watch through the digital stream.


2 September Nobel Peace Center is closed due to the Freedom of Expression conference. See all deviations.


09:30 – Opening session

  • Kjersti Fløgstad, Executive Director, Nobel Peace Center
  • Anniken Huitfeldt, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Norway

10:00 – Session 1: "Antidote against war"

– on the connections between press freedom, democracy, and peace

Keynote speaker: Dmitry Muratov, Nobel Peace Prize laureate 2021 (Video speech)

  • Staffan Lindberg, Director, V-Dem Institute
  • Peter Pomerantsev, Senior Fellow, Johns Hopkins University
  • Khadija Patel,Chair, International Press Institute
  • Moderator: Henrik Urdal, Director, PRIO (Peace Research Institute Oslo)

11:00 – Session 2: "Holding the line"

– on the role of journalism in building and protecting democratic societies

Keynote speaker: Juan Manuel Santos, Nobel Peace Prize laureate 2016

  • Mogens Bjerregård, International Advisor, Danish Union of Journalists
  • Julie Posetti, Deputy Vice President, International Center for Journalists
  • Christophe Deloire, Secretary General, Reporters without Borders.
  • Moderator: Ulrik Haagerup, Founder and CEO, Constructive Institute

12:00 – Break / lunch

12:30 – Session 3: "Without truth"

– on social media and big tech as a threat to freedom of information

Keynote speaker: Maria Ressa, Nobel Peace Prize laureate 2021

  • Frances Haugen, Former Facebook Employee and Whistleblower
  • Bruce Mutsvairo, Associate Professor, Media and Performance Studies, University of Utrecht
  • Irene Khan, UN Special Rapporteur on freedom of expression and opinion
  • Alexandra Geese, Member of the European Parliament, The Greens
  • Pål Nedregotten, Chair of Norwegian Media Businesses’ Association
  • Moderator: Ingrid Stolpestad, Policy adviser, Amnesty Int Norway, Int Norway

13:45 – Closing session

  • Kjersti Fløgstad, Executive Director, Nobel Peace Center
  • Vidar Helgesen, Executive Director, The Nobel Foundation
  • Maria Ressa, Nobel Peace Prize laureate 2021
  • Dmitry Muratov, Nobel Peace Prize laureate 2021

Thank you to our main partners for Freedom of Expression Conference: Hydro, Reitan Retail, Luminate, Amedia, Fritt Ord, Designit and City of Oslo.