The Nobel Peace Prize and the laureates - Nobel Peace Center

Nobel Peace Center


  1. Photo: Johannes Granseth
  2. Photo: Johannes Granseth / Nobel Peace Center
  3. Photo: Eirik M. Sundt / Nobel Peace Center
  4. Photo: Tore Meek / Nobel Peace Center
  5. Photo: Sara Johannessen / Nobel Peace Center
  6. Photo: Håkon Mosvold Larsen / Nobel Peace Center

The Nobel Peace Prize and the laureates

The Norwegian Nobel Committee has decided to award the Nobel Peace Prize for 2018 to Denis Mukwege and Nadia Murad for their efforts to end the use of sexual violence as a weapon of war and armed conflict. The Norwegian Nobel Committe states that “both laureates have made a crucial contribution to focusing attention on, and combating, such war crimes. Denis Mukwege is the helper who has devoted his life to defending these victims. Nadia Murad is the witness who tells of the abuses perpetrated against herself and others. Each of them in their own way has helped to give greater visibility to war-time sexual violence, so that the perpetrators can be held accountable for their actions.”

Only a few hours after the announcement, the new laureate is in place in the Nobel Field, together with all the other 128 Peace Prize laureates of the Nobel history. 

The new Nobel Peace Prize is being celebrated at the Nobel Peace Center Saturday 6 October at 13.00. Thanks to our sponsor Telenor, you can watch the celebration live here:

The Nobel Field

As soon as a new Peace Prize laureate is annouced, we start the updating of our permanent exhibitions. At first in the The Nobel Field, often named “the heart of the Nobel Peace Center”. Here, all laureates are presented on their own screen, surrounded by thousand small lights. Designer David Small is behind the concept, together with architect David Adjaye. He says the ambiance in the room is more important than the technology. “We wanted to create something timeless. Here you can meet all the Peace Prize laureates from today and going back more than a century – all in the same room – and they even speak to each other.”

The Wall Papers

The Wall Papers are filled with information, photos, texts, videos and animations about the Peace Prize laureates’ life and work. On five large screens, you may navigate your way through facts about the Nobel Peace Prize, the Peace Prize laureates and the Nobel system. When the Nobel Peace Center opens to the public the morning after the announcement, photos and articles about the new laureate are on display. The audience can read more about ICAN and their work for an international ban on nuclear weapons.  More than 2,800 other articles and 1,500 images, videos and animations can be retrieved and explored.

Among those who have been awarded the Nobel Peace Prize since 1901, are some of the most significant figures in our recent history. True to their ideals, but at the same time focused on dialogue and collaboration, and of doing mankind good. Laureates like Nelson Mandela, Martin Luther King, Jr., Dalai Lama, Mother Teresa, Fridtjof Nansen, The International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC), Albert Schweitzer and Alva Myrdal all contribute to making the Nobel Peace Prize the world’s most prestigious prize.

The magic book

In his testament from 1895 Alfred Nobel instructs the executors of the will to give the Peace Prize “to the person who shall have done the most or the best work for fraternity between nations, for the abolition or reduction of standing armies and for the holding and promotion of peace congresses”.  In The Nobel Chamber on our second level, you will find the magic book about Alfred Nobel’s fascinating life. Here, his experiences and inventions come to life. The book is in itself an adventure, and provide the visitors with a reading session very much out of the ordinary. There is also a lot of information about Alfred Nobel in The Wall Papers and on the Norwegian Nobel Committee’s website.

The Peace Cloud

As soon as you enter the Nobel Peace Center you meet the Peace Prize laureates. Hanging from the ceiling is a warm and colourful installation. The Peace Cloud is a tribute to all the unique people and organisations that have received the Peace Prize since it was first awarded in 1901. The installation consists of 1000 round discs all varying in size and colour, diplaying either portraits or logos of all laureates. They have been split into six different categories and each has been allocated a colour. Read more about the categories and colours here.